The Dye is cast

You try to love again but you’re miles away.
You throw out words like a tourist lost in the city, all broken English.
I love you.
It sounds so odd to hear.
Like you’re naked and cast ajar, with the window open as the world tumbles in.
….and I slip away.
I’ve lived these words, I’ve breathed that world.
I crashed and burned into that wonder that found me hearing the echo of the sound of I love you.
I got sick with it, lived with it, threw up and fucked it.
And so it remains.
Buried deep within, washing around in my blood.
The light flickers and I catch your smile. Too different for our own good, it cages the bird within me.
A victim or volunteer, I still do not know.
You speak to my soul and play my thoughts like a piano, you move away from others.
Everyone around me tells me the world is flat.
When I tell you it is round; you smile and hold my heart and whisper “it is also surrounded by stars”.
And now I know.
The dye is cast

Leave a Reply

