Apologetic time travel

Into your eyes I shall remain.
Above my head the light begins to shine. Don’t start believing.
Don’t start believing the lies.
Conversations over space, yelling into different galaxies.
Hoping to come down, to descend into this one.
Did I lie to you, I ask my younger self?
You hold your heart so close, secret and safe.
A wonderful treasure for someone to discover.
Water in the desert, light for those in the dark.
Give yourself to me. Completely.
You rest your hand in my own outstretched, and I pull you into the future.
Ideals of youth, questions on your tongue with such energy and promise.
And you see what there is here, what I am now.
Yet I feel so sad. I must say to you: I’m doing my best.

6 thoughts on “Apologetic time travel

Leave a Reply

