Accident of grand design

I ran from the moment, away from the all the pain.
Up into the hills.
Far from you now, though I see you from up here. Up into the rains and breath of the mountain.
I stand on the edge and look up. The black rain falls on my face.
I swallow the sky and spit out the stars.
Raining them down upon you.
I stay here far too long, I no longer know who you are.
Memories hang off me like vines in the amazon. The animals of self-loathing crawl in these branches.
Tears fall that weld me to the stone. Moss begins to grow over my flesh.
I could not keep the promise I made.
A funeral procession trundles up the path below.
Laying rest to a soul who knew nothing but how to leave.
Their final exit, left all with destruction behind as they now carry his bones skyward.
I watch and listen to their dirges. Only I am to blame.
God help him.
God help me as I learn to say goodbye.

6 thoughts on “Accident of grand design

Leave a Reply

