Magic in the rain

What comes back to me?
Pain and the past, like pebbles in my brain.
The vapour of you descends and slips through my hands.
Just like gasoline.
You stand with your lighter, flicking on and off.
Right and wrong. I wear the sign of the desperate and the face of the easily fooled.
Taking your love for what it is, illusionary spectacle.
All smoke and mirrors.
Running and rushing back for more.
Hands cupped. Then praying.
You make the darkness come and go, giving me shelter form the storm.
I find you suddenly, dancing for the rain, calling forth the hurricane.
It all comes back to me, soaked in the shelter of your love.
Why do you leave me wanting more?

Leave a Reply

