Pull

I dreamt you were lying next to me, caught in my arms against the world.
Eyelids flickering into memories, subterranean thoughts of you and I.
We waivered towards destruction, with every word from our mouths.
Yet I was always tongue tied and twisted, rubbing the past into the floor.
I would write our story in the sand, hoping the waves you made would not crash and blur it all.
Watching the sun dim and be pulled down by tomorrow.
Catching our breaths in the here and now.
But what comes after the sunset?
What remains after the salty taste of the sea on your skin fades?
The shells of you and I in your pocket, the ones forged over time and crushed in a heartbeat.
The summer turns and the mercury rises and seeps into my hands.
Burying it in the sand, as we spit in the eye of everything that is against us.
Sucking on caramels as we kick sand at one another, avoiding eyes and hearts.
I woke up thinking we were safe, yet you escape me. Forever caught in the strands of summer.
Leaving me with only sand in my shoes.

Comments are closed.