Tar

Feel me on your fingertips, hear me in the silence.
Falling down like rain, washing over you; teaching you how to sustain.
As you crawled to the ledge, sucking in the view; I was there only 10 years before.
I struggle there also, throwing everything but caution to wind.
Waiting to be spirited away. Waiting for something.
You feel me stuck on you, and I revel in the same.
Our thoughts collapse into each other, the mumblings of the Siamese.
On displays for the circus crowds.
Yet I was not corralled. I bought my ticket like the rest.
Stuck in love, like the monsters in tar pits.
The tar that covers us now, bleeding deep down into our souls.
You loved me then, and fell for who I was.
Let go, know I was always capable of this let down.
Know you loved that part of me even then.
Round and round and back to the start.
Pulling the hairs from the tar that clumps off with skin.
Trying to hold each other together.
A strong drink, a kiss for forever will soothe you.
The cocktail of our love, the adhesive state of mutual dependencies.
The black glue that keeps us together, lying underneath.

Comments are closed.