The fall will kill you

Place my down, turn off the lights.
My eyes will readjust. My skin will fall away.
Dizzy as I spun, thickening in that web.
Up to the sky, such pedestal wobbling.
Take my hand, lick the blood away and hug my bones.
Take my inside.
Push and shove through the thorns to the heart.
I can’t let go, it’s the way I feel.
I got used to all the mistakes, and never being fully healed.
You let me fly. High up into space.
Signalling the satellites. Swimming in the stars.
Flying with you over rooftops and tragedy.
They all wondered where we’d gone.
It was so easy.
Then it all began to fade and you were gone.
The explosions of clouds masking your departure.
Lonely airspace circling and suffocating..
Now all I see is the rush of gravity.

4 thoughts on “The fall will kill you

Leave a Reply

