Swimming to safety

Sat looking for the interruptions, dusting steel.
Climbing through barbed wire.
Coating the shattered glass with honey; that you make me lick.
Boxed up emotions, humming through a phone wire.
Twisting around us, seeping into my bones.
Swim with me in stupidity. Duck and cover until we drown.
They come into our little scene, gravitated by the angry words.
Goody gumdrops, the fall of Rome. The fall of the house of Usher.
The fall between states.
Leaving me here like coins lost down a couch.
Waiting for fingers to rescue me, to touch me deep.
(Please don’t try and tempt me now)
I’m heading in a new direction, so don’t tell me all these dreams are fake.
Sitting still and dodging catapults.
Ashamed to know you lost. Scratching words into me like ‘believe’.
Unbolt me and take me apart. Categorise and sermonise in your hypocrisy.
Shove me back into the truth.
We all go back to where we belong.

4 thoughts on “Swimming to safety

Leave a Reply

