Numbed by nostalgia

What trance am I under, what spell has been cast?
My morning woken by tiny earthquakes. Little voices from the past.
Bouncing off the thoughts in my brain, sweeping into memories.
Exploding on my Thursday morning.
Silent all these years, then back with such ferocity.
But then, those birds circling had to some day land .
Slipped into precious hallucinations, running after the rain.
Who would have thought it would still affect me, that I could not wash it away?
Stay with me, settle in for the cold winter ahead. Treat me to tales of tomorrow.
Put a gun to the head of grudges, smash the face of anger.
My heart suggest ghosts, my brain tells me friends are knocking at that door to my soul.
Coughing up golden stardust and remorse.
As I search for silver linings.

8 thoughts on “Numbed by nostalgia

Leave a Reply

