Cursory reverie

When you’re wrong you’re right.
How blessed you are, what fallen angel are you?
Yet your crown looks crooked, tin foil all twisted.
Below my feet, the earth is no longer there. You’ve lost me in your sky.
Lost me in your world, where the rules don’t apply.
Yet there are fires of destruction burning on my tongue.
Ready to lick at your cheek, come into me.
My hands, feeling to where the wings should be.
Asking me to stay in your version of paradise.
Wanting me to stay talking to your strangers.
Breathing underwater.
I’ve got too many blocks, too many eye rolls. They didn’t get there by themselves.
So you’re not going to find me there.
Memorising the ABCs of your life.
I’m breaking free, digging it out. Making good on the change.
Shaking it off.
Growing up.
Reciprocity was just my wandering reflection.
Love was just a passing thought.

4 thoughts on “Cursory reverie

Leave a Reply

