Dig

I’ve played the part.
Guilt smeared like oil. Puncturing the lungs and mind.
It dissolved my heart that day to watch you cry.
Disappearing in sulphurous tears, staining your soul.
Touching you, like waking a dream. The hummingbird in my eyes.
The chaos theory on my fingertips. Fragile and strong like a butterfly.
It all fades to black, the soil covers my words.
Ashes to ashes. Wrong to right.
Strung up in the departure. Floating down to the caves below.
Descending in my ascent to acceptance.
The quietening of me.
Dig.
In a few years from now. A million heartbeats from here.
Dig.
Through the oil and coal of time. Passed petrified carnivores and wounded lovers.
And find my bones.
Bleached and mangled, the marrow eaten away.
A Skeleton soul for you to embrace.
East to west, my heart lolled into your direction.
Preserved in time.
Reviving the relic of me.

11 thoughts on “Dig

      • I remember when I first heard that word. I was a little girl and my Grandparents brought back some petrified wood from a trip out west. I was in awe of it…but didn’t know what it meant…just the sound was beautiful.

        Like

      • Excellent! And yes…glad there’s a story behind it too. Amazing what words affect us when we’re younger. Galvanised is another good one.

        Like

Leave a Reply

