Leave it to memories

Hold on to me, I have seen things that you will never see.
I have seen things that you’ll never believe.
Hold on while it hurts. Close your eyes and take my hand.
Shiver out the safety of the ground.
Come with me out of this world.
Where the sweetness will follow you. Distant and warm.
Distance is worn, like a threadbare rug.
The stains of time under foot.
Hold on and try not to breathe.
They hypnotised us into defence. Into regret.
Forty steps to the eighth parallel, one jump into beyond.
Do you believe me now, do you believe yet?
There’s nothing up these sleeves. Only the ability to the dream.
Spinning Egypt and Atlantis in my hand, spinning you a quieter night.
A peaceful day.
The photograph of us that will never fade, and shows us only in reverse.
Clearer, like ebb tides and dragonflies.
Where the sorrow subsides.

8 thoughts on “Leave it to memories

  1. promising and hoping to achieve the dream….thats how this spoke to me. and the places it conjures up in my mind i am tempted to take the hand that is offered….lovely….

    Like

Leave a Reply

