Shoot for the moon

When this is over, and the world has sighed.
That feeling you once had for me will fire.
Burning up within you like a roman candle.
Like holy vestments you’ll put me on. Pulling me close to your skin.
After the flood and the flames, and stormy tongues.
No longer chocking on the backwash of us.
The taste in your mouth that makes you sick.
Spit.
Don’t swallow this anymore. The fractured dreams and candies off the floor.
When the clouds have rolled on, storming someone else’s world; I’ll take your hand.
And you can feel for my heartbeat. The one that beats only for you.
Drop your gaze and your guard, and let me in again.
Through the thorns and barricades. The brick walls of stubbornness.
The fortress I had to burn.
Let me dwell within you once more, and light up your eyes like starlight.
This shooting star that you bottled, keeping secret and safe.
I will be a happy prisoner, locked in love.
Covering the ashes on your soul, that is really stardust.
Taking you higher than the moon.

5 thoughts on “Shoot for the moon

  1. Absolutely beautiful 🙂 Through the thorns and barricades. The brick walls of stubbornness.
    The fortress I had to burn.
    Let me dwell within you once more, and light up your eyes like starlight.
    This shooting star that you bottled, keeping secret and safe.
    I will be a happy prisoner, locked in love
    Is my favorite part 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

