Calling Elizabeth Taylor

You fill the glass up, I peer over the crystal.
My eyes violent not violet.
Travelling down the Sunset Boulevard of my mind.
To that empty house full of ghost and nothing else.
Where you left me.
In a room with everyone and no-one, forcing me to smile.
Clink. As the glasses toll my virtue.
Flash. As they captured my soul.
I’m calling up Elizabeth Taylor. Hoping to escape to another land.
Held up by Marilyn and Rita, out of reach as you try to grab my hand.
The boom of my heart vibrates my bones. The alcohol river warms the blood.
Collapsing to the floor, my health giving in like my patience.
How I’ve whispered and screamed the words ‘No Sale’.
As you bought me time and again.
Wore me like a precious gemstone. Showed me off to all your friends.
Yet it’s the diamonds of yesteryear that sparkle for me.
Raising their torches and songs to give me strength.
Everyone suffers at the top.
A fade out for Lauren, filled up once more with the words that bite.
Holding them in my heart for another battle. Another sigh.
The golden age of pedestal wobbling.
For now I see Elizabeth Taylor, walking me across the sands.
Those diamonds all a sparkle, in her eyes as she holds out her hands.

2 thoughts on “Calling Elizabeth Taylor

  1. Love your diamond theme.
    With the alcohol and violent eyes reminds me of my fav Taylor movie, “Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf. Love the belligerence. But truly unease situation to be in and unhealthy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

