Preserved in time

I heard it crawling over me.
Dragging me down. Pulling me under.
Like every memory I ever heard.
Hard and course like pennies in my skull.
The ships they sail, close in all around.
A plundering armada to sweep me away from you.
To drown me at sea.
Maybe this is how it was meant to be.
Like the lamps lit a lifetime before my soul walked this earth.
Burning away my thread, held taught in the fingers of fate.
I shiver these thoughts out. Stuck in stasis.
Sucking dinosaur blood.
Watching for comets.
Look for me tomorrow, frozen in amber.
Chasing my own tail, dreaming ruby dreams.

11 thoughts on “Preserved in time

  1. this really made me think about those that walked the earth before us and how many left their mark behind for others to see….i recently read about a dragonfly in amber and reading your lines here i finally understand what it means…”Like the lamps lit a lifetime before my soul walked this earth….” that’s my favorite line.

    Like

  2. That’s lovely! Never spotted this amber flower before. I too think about how I will be remembered….some people live on in our lives long after they are gone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

