A dream turned inside out

Stutter.
Veiled saffron words.
Broken from your teeth.
(To hear you speak of it)
Melted away like the hazy grey of subterfuge.
Dulled sparklers in the ice cream that stings my mind.
Your new take puts my city to bed.
Breathing gold into my pulse.
Beat. As it runs away.
Mark that apology and raise your voice.
Shake me, wake me from this slumber.
A nightmare twisted into a dream.
Coiling like a peppermint candy.
Collapsed into an insomniac shudder.
A lot less frightening after your confession.
This is what I’ve seen.

9 thoughts on “A dream turned inside out

Leave a Reply

