I see red

My eyes itch and my heart heaves.
Reading over and over.
Line after line.
Pulling me out of traffic, pulling me into your frame.
Surround yourself with good intentions.
A swirling world of your black and white.
Yet all I see is red.
The swan song that you misunderstand.
Plucking my heartstrings for the correct rhythm.
The right sound.
Colour your lines. Careful now, make it pretty.
This is the page we’re on, this is the hymn we’ll sing.
My story snipped down to a footnote.
A sentence that mice can devour.
In your book of course.
What was I thinking?

6 thoughts on “I see red

    • Nothing specifcally. Was a phrase that came up. I sometimes take stuff from conversations and go with it. I like swan songs though, that and torch songs. Hehe. Hope you liked it.

      Like

      • The silver Swan, who living had no Note. When Death approached, unlocked her silent throat.
        Leaning her breast against the reedy shore,thus sang her first and last, and sang no more:
        “Farewell, all joys! O Death, come close mine eyes!”.
        More Geese than Swans now live, more Fools than Wise.
        …..now on to the Sufjan Stevens record.
        Glad you liked….hope Friday is treating you well over there.

        Like

      • Oh…how beautiful!
        Just finished din. I just shoved some of the jalapeño ketchup packets into my purse like an old lady. (Chris wanted them) Now off to the shops. I’ll email perhaps this weekend. Enjoy yours and cheers! 😸

        Like

Leave a Reply

