Holding back the waves

Heat rivals such memories.
Burning a hole through my soul.
Desert licking as my heart contorts.
Coughing up a dry dusty apology.
Limp in the midday sun.
Yet still I stand, awash with remorse and resolve.
Unable to drown in your sorrow.
Afraid to swim in your sadness.
Washed up, I watch as your gather all your hope.
Bottling shooting stars and dreams.
Plucking shadows from me, stuck on this ship.
As it rains on us.
I once tried to drain your oceanic heart.
My eyes dissolved from all the tears.
Washed away in the monsoon rains.
So you sit and wait.
Waiting for someone else to care.
At your water’s edge.
Where you still find me, threatening to jump.
Threatening to retreat.
Still hoping to save you.
Trying to hold back the waves.

8 thoughts on “Holding back the waves

  1. We forget that love isn’t just sunshine and butterflies. It can be stormy. If you can weather the storm or hold back the waves as you’ve mentioned very eloquently, love can withstand the turmoil. Excellent writing.

    ~PR

    Like

  2. Pingback: Curated Poetry: Ward Clever From All Over – Ward Clever

Leave a Reply

