Wash over me

The thread from my bones was caught and tugged.
Stuck on that rootless tree.
That dying ember.
Give me a place where it’s quiet in my head.
To rest and melt away.
This lake-shore I wander upon, littered with Prozac pebbles.
Stubs my heart and calls me to the water’s edge.
Reflected in the glassy eye of tomorrow.
Is nothing of what I cherish today.
As birds fly above, they swoop in and steal my thoughts.
There is no protector of my mind.
Leaving me numb and silent.
Dancing once more in the darkness.
To a rhythm only I can hear.

2 thoughts on “Wash over me

  1. Aptly expression of mental illness. My mind has been to that lakeside. Errie and dreadful feelings in conjures up. Excellent job, towards the understanding of the saddening and maddening illness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

