Breathe inside me

Call me down from the universe, way up high.
Brush away the moon dust.
Cough up the stars.
You took that picture of us down.
You smashed it into bits.
You broke the past, your burnt the time.
Cutting me deeper than you ever knew you could.
Band aid this flesh that hangs off the bone.
Kiss it to make it better.
Breathe under this water, under my skin.
You’ve packed the walls with soil.
Scattered seeds like a dervish.
You pray for the rain.
You pray for the devil to change.
I stay.
Why do I need you so?

4 thoughts on “Breathe inside me

Leave a Reply

