Grounded

They split the sun in two and I fell into the sky.
That vast aperture to swallow me completely.
Gobbling light and the cells of the universe.
This volant creature feeling the constellations on my fingertips.
Tumbling and freewheeling as my soul solidifies.
The ticking clock ignites and hurtles me on.
After days languishing over lunar landscapes and silent seas.
Wrap me in skin.
Count my DNA as the magic settles.
Freefall through the atmosphere, making waves across your heart.
Plummet with all the intention of God and deliberateness of the devil.
To be smouldering on your shore.
Smoking on the sulphur of your spirit
Grounded, by just one look into your eyes.

9 thoughts on “Grounded

  1. interesting concept of falling into the sky – which we all see as above – what if it were reversed and it was below us one day? Count my DNA as the magic settles – this brought me back to college days biology lessons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

