Trailing reality

Where did you find me?
Where the willows whisper?
That quiet place where they weep.
Falling over the side of the world.
Don’t make a sound if you’ve come here for that.
Sit quietly and rock the sands of time in your hand.
Back and forth, like a spirit on a sea.
Breathe in this peaceful frozen moment.
And let go of my hand.
You can turn away and leave me be.
Slip out the side of the planet and disappear into the stars.
I was content here alone.
Dipping my toe out of reality.
Fear not the monster at my feet.
That had slithered out the tranquil pool where you caught your own reflection.
I know its ways.
All his tantrums and toil.
It’s all crocodile tears these days anyhow.

6 thoughts on “Trailing reality

  1. got an impression of someone hiding behind or under huge monsters so others couldn’t see who they really were, for the monster scared them away before they could come closer. Your poetry always has that mystical quality I am so drawn to, while you may have had a different thought running in your head when you wrote it, its so multi dimensional I see different views from different eyes that read it. keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

