A mouth full of marbles

You hold me until the ghosts are quiet.
Pulling into your soul this shadow of doubt.
A brain full of fire and a mouth full of marbles.
Yet you force me to speak.
A language of unsaying, fluent as the sphinx.
This hostility threatens everyone.
Those been and gone, and ones yet to be.
Sitting on the edge of expectation.
Tasting the chalk in my mouth.
My viper tongue recoils, and you slither away.
Into your own darkness, leaving just reality in my wake.
A wounded bird, a lamb in the teeth of this lion.
Yet my shepherd heart yearns for brighter days and greener pastures.
So let me spit out a saying, one practised like a prayer.
To quiver down your spine.
And rattle in your brain for an age.
Words that will flash before your eyes when you think of me.
And everything that all burnt away.

8 thoughts on “A mouth full of marbles

  1. Aw, this is a very familiar feeling. Especially the title…It’s so hard to talk sometimes…I’m so relieved to be able to use writing to express correctly what I so badly want to speak. Love this and the art! Anything coming out of a mouth speaks a thousand visions.

    Like

    1. Glad you liked it, and yes the artwork is good too. In kabbalah words are very powerful, letters and words hold energy and meaning. We have to choose them wisely, though sometimes it’s better to listen then speak. I find that hard to do most of the time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

